Free Shipping on orders over $25

Book Details

  • Paperback
  • Bookstore's Wholesale Price: $28.60
  • September 1997
  • ISBN: 978-0-393-96700-5
  • 264 pages
  • Volume(s): 7
  • Territory Rights: Worldwide

Strunk's Source Readings in Music History

The Twentieth Century

Revised Edition


Volume(s): 7

See all options and formats starting at

Leo Treitler (General Editor), Robert P. Morgan (Editor)


This book began as an attempt to carry out a suggestion made in 1929 by Carl Engel in his "Views and Reviews"-to fulfill his wish for " a living record of musical personalities, events, conditions, tastes ...a history of music faithfully and entirely carved from contemporary accounts.

Twentieth-century music has been described as complex, vital, diverse, uncertain, experimental, self-conscious, innovative-the list is long and growing. Composers have been both credited with and accused of always searching for something "new," writing works that are mechanistic but romantic, meaningful but unskilled, beautiful but ugly! In The Twentieth Century, Robert P. Morgan helps us grasp the flavor of the era by presenting forty-five readings from the period, nearly all written by active participants in the musical developments of the time. Thus we tune in to the voices of some thirty composers-from Busoni to Babbitt, Ives to Xenakis, Satie to Stravinsky-and learn from performers Anderson and Landowska, philosopher-critics Adorno, Dahlhaus, and Meyer, and writers Cocteau, Barthes, and Eco.


Package Offers

  1. Book Image

    Get Strunk's Source Readings in Music History: The Twentieth Century for only $22.73 when you also buy Music in the Twentieth and Twenty-First Centuries. Buy the package for $67.28