Free Shipping on orders over $25

Book Details

  • Paperback
  • Bookstore's Wholesale Price: $28.60
  • September 1997
  • ISBN: 978-0-393-96699-2
  • 248 pages
  • Volume(s): 6
  • Territory Rights: Worldwide

Strunk's Source Readings in Music History

The Nineteenth Century

Revised Edition


Volume(s): 6

See all options and formats starting at

Leo Treitler (General Editor), Ruth Solie (Editor)


The definitive collection of great writings on music of the nineteenth century.

Forty-five years after the appearance of the first edition, Oliver Strunk's monumental anthology of writings about music has been thoroughly revised and extended by a team of scholars working under the direction of musicologist Leo Treitler. For this new edition, seven specialists in music history have replaced some selections, added others, contributed new translations, and provided additional notes and introductions. With this series, readers can now acquire a comprehensive picture of Western musical thought and ideas through the ages.


Package Offers

  1. Book Image

    Get Strunk's Source Readings in Music History: The Nineteenth Century for only $22.73 when you also buy Music in the Nineteenth Century. Buy the package for $69.51