Free Shipping on orders over $25

Book Details

  • Paperback
  • Bookstore's Wholesale Price: $22.30
  • March 2000
  • ISBN: 978-0-393-96677-0
  • 336 pages
  • Territory Rights: Worldwide

Symphony No. 4 in E Minor, Op. 98


See all options and formats starting at

Johannes Brahms (Author), Kenneth Hull (Editor, Conrad Grebel University College)


The Norton Critical Score of Brahm's Fourth Symphony is the latest volume in this highly-regarded series, in which an authoritative score--here the first edition as corrected by the composer--is combined with illuminating essays and documents for an in-depth study of the work.

Highlights of the Norton Critical Score of Symphony No. 4:

* The first edition of the score with Brahm's corrections incorporated
* Historical background
* Correspondence before publication
* Reviews of first and early performances
* Analysis and criticism by music scholars, including: Hugo Riemann, "Johannes Brahms, Fourth Symphony in E-minor" (1897); Heinrich Schenker, from Free Composition (1935); Rene Leibowitz, "Aimez-vous Brahms?" (1971); Walter Frisch, from Brahms: The Four Symphonies (1996); Raymond Knapp, from Brahms and the Cahllenge of the Symphony (1997).