Free Shipping on orders over $25

Book Details

  • Hardcover
  • Bookstore's Wholesale Price: $64.52
  • January 1991
  • ISBN: 978-0-393-95272-8
  • 576 pages
  • Territory Rights: Worldwide

Related Books

  • Anthology of Twentieth-Century Music

    Designed to accompany and supplement the author's survey, Twentieth-Century Music: A History of Musical Style in Modern Europe and America, this selection of 29 works or groups of works by 24 composers covers a time span from 1903 to 1983.

Twentieth-Century Music

A History of Musical Style in Modern Europe and America


See all options and formats starting at

Robert P. Morgan (Author)


Twentieth Century Music is the third volume to appear in this series.

Morgan divides his text into three chronological sections. Beginning with such giants as Mahler, Richard Strauss and Debussy, he discusses national movements, as represented by Charles Ives and Ralph Vaughan Williams; philosophical movements as various as the Schoenberg/Berg/Webern alliance or "les six"; and the giants who were "sui generis", such as Bartok and Stravinsky. The "isms" such as serialism, minimalism, indeterminism, the new romanticism and pluralism, are clearly delineated and the electronic boom of the last decades is defined.