Free Shipping on orders over $25

Book Details

  • Paperback
  • Bookstore's Wholesale Price: $56.89
  • March 1998
  • ISBN: 978-0-393-97170-5
  • 550 pages
  • Territory Rights: Worldwide

Related Books

  • Renaissance Music

    Renaissance Music, by Allan W. Atlas, is a formidable new addition to Norton’s Introduction to Music History series.

Anthology of Renaissance Music

The Norton Introduction to Music History


See all options and formats starting at

Allan W. Atlas (Editor, Brooklyn College)


In this carefully selected anthology—the author of Renaissance Music presents full scores for all the music highlighted in the companion text—a total of 102 works of complete movements by some 75 composers.

Spanning the period from the early fifteenth century to the late sixteenth, the anthology features all of the era’s important forms and many minor ones, including carols, motets, Mass movements, Anglican services, a Magnificat setting, chansons, frottole, Lieder, madrigals, and others. For each selection, the best available edition has been reproduced; where no satisfactory edition existed, the piece has been specially set for this volume. Inclusive and practical, the Anthology of Renaissance Music is a remarkable tool for students and teachers, for use with or without its companion text.