Other Sites



Come West and See

Stories

Maxim Loskutoff (Author)

Overview | Formats
 

This searing debut reimagines the American West through linked stories describing a violent rural separatist movement.

In an isolated region of Idaho, Montana, and eastern Oregon known as the Redoubt, an armed occupation of a wildlife refuge is escalating into civil war. Against this backdrop, twelve stories of ordinary lives explore the loneliness, fragility, and heartbreak inherent to love. Families feel the far-reaching shockwaves of displacement and division. A mother makes a hard choice for her sons when their father goes to lead a standoff with the federal government. An unemployed carpenter joins a militia after his wife leaves him and the first airstrikes raze the streets of his hometown. A former soldier raises the daughter of a dead comrade in a bunker beneath an abandoned farm.

Ranging from the cities to the small towns of the West, and imbued with its own brand of radical empathy, Loskutoff's fiction is both timely and timeless. Come West and See surges with rage, longing, and fear, and offers startling insights into the wounds of the American people.

Book Details

  • Paperback
  • Forthcoming August 2019
  • ISBN 978-0-393-35701-1
  • 5.5 × 8.3 in / 240 pages
  • Sales Territory: Worldwide including Canada, Singapore and Malaysia, but excluding the British Commonwealth.

Other Formats

  1. Book CoverCome West and See: Stories

    Hardcover

Endorsements & Reviews

“A new kind of American Western.” — Jolie Myers, NPR

“A ferocious love letter to the forgotten and the scorned.” — Matt Gallagher

“Fans of Cormac McCarthy and Russell Banks will find plenty to like in Loskutoff’s fresh voice and keen instincts for drama.” — LA Weekly

“Like postcards from a truthful place, Come West and See holds a mirror up to America—a brutal, ferocious image that carries a beauty unto itself.” — Craig Johnson, author of the Walt Longmire mysteries, basis for the Netflix original series Longmire

“Maxim Loskutoff highlights life on the other side— the disenfranchised, angry, sullen, rebellious, gun-packing side. See them attempt to create a homeland of their own.” — William Kittredge, author of Hole in the Sky

“Violence waits for its moment in the quietest of lives, and Loskutoff shows us that we had better face it and do our best to understand it. A tough, human work of fiction.” — Tom Bouman, author of Dry Bones in the Valley

“[A] visceral debut.… Come West and See almost invites comparison with books in the vein of Juan Rulfo’s enigmatic midcentury masterpiece Pedro Páramo.… Whereas Rulfo’s novel is full of corpses, Loskutoff’s characters are very much alive.” — Adam DePollo, Michigan Quarterly Review

“It is impossible not to be struck by the tenderness in Loskutoff’s writing: the sublime setting; the vivid characters, so precise and unique it seems like he dreamed them up whole and fully fledged; the intricacies of love, fear, and fatigue that resonate so strongly they left me actually breathless.” — Ploughshares