Selected Poems 1965-1990

Marilyn Hacker (Author, City College of New York)


Here is a rich collection of work from five books by one of America's most controversial poets. Marilyn Hacker's poems have been praised for their technical virtuosity, forthright feminism, political acuity, and unabashed eroticism.

Included are selections from Hacker's first book, Presentation Piece (1974), the Lamont Poetry Selection of the Academy of American Poets and a National Book Award Winner; Separations (1976); Taking Notice (1980), which was claimed as an integral part of the burgeoning feminist and lesbian canon; Assumptions (1985), which explored the conundrums of gender, race, and identity in contemporary life; and Going Back to the River(1990), which received a Lambda Literary Award.

Book Details

  • Paperback
  • January 1996
  • ISBN 978-0-393-31349-9
  • 5.5 × 8.2 in / 288 pages
  • Sales Territory: Worldwide


Endorsements & Reviews

Also by Marilyn Hacker All

  1. Book CoverDesesperanto: Poems 1999-2002


  2. Book CoverFirst Cities: Collected Early Poems 1960-1979


  3. Book CoverLove, Death, and the Changing of the Seasons


All Subjects