From So Simple a Beginning

Darwin's Four Great Books

Charles Darwin (Author), Edward O. Wilson (Editor, Harvard University)


Hailed as "superior" by Nature, this landmark volume is  available in a collectible, boxed edition.

Never before have the four great works of Charles Darwin—Voyage of the H.M.S. Beagle (1845), The Origin of Species (1859), The Descent of Man (1871), and The Expression of Emotions in Man and Animals (1872)—been collected under one cover. Undertaking this challenging endeavor 123 years after Darwin's death, two-time Pulitzer Prize winner Edward O. Wilson has written an introductory essay for the occasion, while providing new, insightful introductions to each of the four volumes and an afterword that examines the fate of evolutionary theory in an era of religious resistance. In addition, Wilson has crafted a creative new index to accompany these four texts, which links the nineteenth-century, Darwinian evolutionary concepts to contemporary biological thought. Beautifully slipcased, and including restored versions of the original illustrations, From So Simple a Beginning turns our attention to the astounding power of the natural creative process and the magnificence of its products.

Book Details

  • Hardcover
  • October 2010
  • ISBN 978-0-393-06134-5
  • 6.7 × 9.8 in / 1712 pages
  • Sales Territory: Worldwide

Also by Charles Darwin All

  1. Book CoverThe Autobiography of Charles Darwin: 1809-1882


  2. Book CoverDarwin

    Third Edition / Paperback

  3. Book CoverThe Darwin Reader

    Second Edition / Paperback

Also by Edward O. Wilson All

  1. Book CoverAnthill: A Novel


  2. Book CoverThe Creation: An Appeal to Save Life on Earth


  3. Book CoverGenesis: The Deep Origin of Societies


All Subjects

Appropriate For