Later Poems: Selected and New


Adrienne Rich (Author)

Overview | Formats

The final volume of poems by America’s most powerful and distinctive poetic voice.

Later Poems: Selected and New brings together a remarkable body of work by the celebrated poet. Included are Adrienne Rich’s own selections from twelve volumes of published works, including the National Book Award–winning Diving into the Wreck, An Atlas of the Difficult World, and her final volume, Tonight No Poetry Will Serve, along with ten powerful new poems, previously uncollected. This collection testifies to a monumental career that distinguished American literature in the late twentieth century, and will continue to inspire readers for years to come.

Book Details

  • Paperback
  • November 2015
  • ISBN 978-0-393-35183-5
  • 6.2 × 9.3 in / 544 pages
  • Sales Territory: Worldwide

Other Formats

  1. Book CoverLater Poems Selected and New: 1971–2012


Endorsements & Reviews

“She dreamed, famously, of a common language, and that is what she has left us with: language that made what was true, truer; what was small, bigger; what was silent, heard; what was fleeting, eternal.” — New York Times Magazine

““[Rich’s poems] shine with defiance, fierce commitment, introspection and self-reproach, ‘hunger for clarity’ and ‘sour plum jam,’ majestic coastlines and domestic detail. Here is a poet who knew her own contradictions, determined to depict them accurately, and equally determined that she would not write for herself alone.” — Stephen Burt, San Francisco Chronicle

Also by Adrienne Rich All

  1. Book CoverAdrienne Rich: Poetry and Prose

    Second Edition / Paperback

  2. Book CoverArts of the Possible: Essays and Conversations


  3. Book CoverAn Atlas of the Difficult World: Poems 1988-1991


All Subjects