Contemporary America

SORT BY: Date | Title | Author
  1. Book ImageDefying Dixie: The Radical Roots of Civil Rights, 1919-1950

    Glenda Elizabeth Gilmore

    “Remarkable . . . an eye-opening book [on] the freedom struggle that changed the South, the nation, and the world.” —Washington PostMore

  2. Book ImageEverybody Says Freedom: A History of the Civil Rights Movement in Songs and Pictures

    Pete Seeger, Bob Reiser, Jesse Jackson

    “Filled with beautiful music, glorious lyrics, and the soul of one of the most important historical and social revolutions of our history.” —Judy CollinsMore

  3. Book ImageGoing Down Jericho Road: The Memphis Strike, Martin Luther King's Last Campaign

    Michael K. Honey

    The definitive history of the epic struggle for economic justice that became Martin Luther King Jr.'s last crusade.More

  4. Book ImageThe Killing Zone: My Life in the Vietnam War

    Frederick Downs, Jr.

    “The best damned book from the point of view of the infantrymen who fought there.”—Army TimesMore

  5. Book ImageThe Pursuit of Oblivion: A Global History of Narcotics

    Richard Davenport-Hines

    A startling account of the history of drug abuse, this book forces us to reconsider many of our views on a controversial issue.More

  6. Book ImageSomething New Under the Sun: An Environmental History of the Twentieth-Century World

    J. R. McNeill

    "Refreshingly unpolemical and at times even witty, McNeill's book brims with carefully sifted statistics and brilliant details."—Washington Post Book WorldMore

  7. Book ImageOne World Divisible: A Global History Since 1945

    David Reynolds

    "A magisterial account of our time by a distinguished historian."—Walter LaFeber, prize-winning author of The ClashMore

  8. Book ImageIntervention!: The United States and the Mexican Revolution, 1913-1917

    John S. D. Eisenhower

    Powerful and compelling. . . . Eisenhower is not only an accomplished military historian, he's also a storyteller in the tradition of Bruce Caton and Shelby Foote."—Steve Neal, Chicago Sun-TimesMore

  9. Book Image21st Century Capitalism

    Robert L. Heilbroner

    "It is my hope that some grasp of what the twenty-first century holds in store for capitalism may enable us to avoid at least some of the pain we might otherwise have to endure," writes the eminent economist Robert Heilbroner in this important book on the world's economic future.More