Latin American History

SORT BY: Featured | Date | Title | Author
  1. Book ImageBorn in Blood and Fire: A Concise History of Latin America

    John Charles Chasteen

    Fourth Edition

    The most readable, highly regarded, and affordable history of Latin America for our times.More

  2. Book ImageBorn in Blood and Fire: Latin American Voices

    John Charles Chasteen

    Second Edition

    The companion reader to the most readable, highly regarded, and affordable history of Latin America for our times.More

  3. Book ImageSor Juana Inés de la Cruz: Selected Works

    Juana Inés de la Cruz, Edith Grossman, Anna More

    A wealth of background and analytical material makes Sor Juana's proto-feminist writings, newly translated, all the more compelling.More

  4. Book ImageThe Underdogs

    Mariano Azuela, Ilan Stavans, Anna More

    Mariano Azuela’s classic novel of the Mexican Revolution is now available as a Norton Critical Edition.More

  5. Book ImageEvita: The Real Life of Eva Peron

    Nicholas Fraser, Marysa Navarro

    The life that inspired Evita, the major motion picture starring Madonna.More

  6. Book ImageFidel Castro

    Robert E. Quirk

    In this masterly biography, the prize-winning historian Robert E. Quirk paints a portrait of the charismatic leader who for more than three decades—and over eight American presidencies—managed to sustain a communist regime in the western hemisphere.
    More

  7. Book ImageIntervention!: The United States and the Mexican Revolution, 1913-1917

    John S. D. Eisenhower

    Powerful and compelling. . . . Eisenhower is not only an accomplished military historian, he's also a storyteller in the tradition of Bruce Caton and Shelby Foote."—Steve Neal, Chicago Sun-TimesMore

  8. Book ImageTriumphs and Tragedy: A History of the Mexican People

    Ramón Eduardo Ruíz

    A narrative study of Mexico's tumultuous origin and development--from its Olmec, Aztec and Mayan heritage to its present-day incarnation as an independent, but struggling, modern country.More

  9. Book ImageThe Spanish American Revolutions 1808-1826

    John Lynch

    Second Edition

    Spanish America was engulfed for nearly two decades in revolutions for independence that were sudden, violent, and universal.More

  10. Book ImageThe Spanish War: An American Epic 1898

    G. J. A. O'Toole

    "O'Toole is . . . astonishingly good. . . . [He] is a master of the knack of weaving significant detail into his recapitulation of the war." —Alden Whitman, Chicago Sun-TimesMore

  11. Book ImageThe Battle for the Falklands

    Max Hastings, Simon Jenkins

    "Must be read by all our military people and anyone who wants to find out what really happened on the Falkland Islands." —James M. GavinMore

  12. Book ImageThe Great Rebellion: Mexico 1905-1924

    Ramón Eduardo Ruíz

    The great rebellion ignited by Francisco Madero's call to arms in 1910 was a momentous event in the turbulent history of Mexico.More