New Poems

A. R. Ammons (Author)


This book collects many of the poems that A. R. Ammons wrote between 1964 and 1970. The poems here include brief lyrics and such longer works as "Summer Session 1968" and "Guitar Recicativos."

The critic Harold Bloom writes, "With the publication of his Selected Poems (1968), soon after turning forty, A. R. Ammons quietly demonstrated a unique and central position in recent American poetry. . . . Recognition, as is always the case with a poetry difficult and central, has come slowly, but critics now begin to see in Ammons what he is: the maker of a body of poetry that fulfills Emerson's prophecy by addressing itself to life 'with sufficient plainness and with sufficient profoundness.'"

Book Details

  • Paperback
  • October 1970
  • ISBN 978-0-393-04330-3
  • 5.4 × 8.4 in
  • Sales Territory: Worldwide

Also by A. R. Ammons All

  1. Book CoverBosh and Flapdoodle: Poems


  2. Book CoverBriefings: Poems Small and Easy


  3. Book CoverA Coast of Trees


All Subjects