The Music of Tchaikovsky

Gerald Abraham (Editor, Contributions by)

With contributions from Martin Cooper, With contributions from Edward Lockpeiser


Tchaikovsky’s music is played by every orchestra everywhere in the world, yet surprisingly little has been written about it. The Music of Tchaikovsky, the most authoritative book to date on the subject, provides a comprehensive survey of all of Tchaikovsky’s music, bringing together chapters by well-known music critics, each an authority in his field.

The contributions to The Music of Tchaikovsky have been selected and arranged under the editorship of Gerald Abraham, who has also contributed two of the articles. The bibliography has been brought up to date for this edition, and the book also includes a chronology, a complete list of works, and many musical examples.

Book Details

  • Paperback
  • February 1974
  • ISBN 978-0-393-00707-7
  • 5 × 8 in
  • Sales Territory: Worldwide

All Subjects