World History

Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 6 NextSORT BY: Featured | Date | Title | Author
  1. Book ImageThe Underdogs

    Mariano Azuela, Ilan Stavans, Anna More

    Mariano Azuela’s classic novel of the Mexican Revolution is now available as a Norton Critical Edition.More

  2. Book ImageThe Mummies of Ürümchi

    Elizabeth Wayland Barber

    In the museums of Ürümchi, the windswept regional capital of the Uyghur Autonomous Region (also known as Chinese Turkestan), a collection of ancient mummies lies at the center of an enormous mystery.More

  3. Book ImagePerspectives from the Past: Primary Sources in Western Civilizations

    James M. Brophy, Joshua Cole, John Robertson, Et Al.

    Sixth Edition / Volume(s): 1 / Chapters 1 - 15

    Placing value in perspective—a rich primary source collection at a truly exceptional value.More

  4. Book ImagePerspectives from the Past: Primary Sources in Western Civilizations

    James M. Brophy, Joshua Cole, John Robertson, Et Al.

    Sixth Edition / Volume(s): 2 / Chapters 11 - 28

    Placing value in perspective—a rich primary source collection at a truly exceptional value.More

  5. Book ImageBorn in Blood and Fire: Latin American Voices

    John Charles Chasteen

    Second Edition

    The companion reader to the most readable, highly regarded, and affordable history of Latin America for our times.More

  6. Book ImageBorn in Blood and Fire: A Concise History of Latin America

    John Charles Chasteen

    Fourth Edition

    The most readable, highly regarded, and affordable history of Latin America for our times.More

  7. Book ImageBorn in Blood and Fire: A Concise History of Latin America

    John Charles Chasteen

    Fourth Edition

    The most readable, highly regarded, and affordable history of Latin America for our times.More

  8. Book ImageThe Search for Modern China: A Documentary Collection

    Janet Chen, Pei-kai Cheng, Michael Lestz, Et Al.

    Third Edition

    The most widely used primary-source reader for the modern China course, thoroughly revised and updated to reflect the new edition of Spence, The Search for Modern China.More

  9. Book ImageThe Analects

    Confucius, Michael Nylan, Simon Leys

    “Leys has made Confucius speak English more persuasively than any translator to date. His achievement is one of simplicity. . . . Leys sees his task as making the Confucius of the Analects fully persuasive again. He does this brilliantly.”
    —Stephen Owen, The New Republic
    More

  10. Book ImageChildren of the Sun: A History of Humanity's Unappeasable Appetite for Energy

    Alfred W. Crosby

    We don’t often recognize the humble activity of cooking for the revolutionary cultural adaptation that it is. But when the hearth fires started burning in the Paleolithic, humankind broadened the exploitation of food and took one of several great leaps forward.More

  11. Book ImageThe Pursuit of Oblivion: A Global History of Narcotics

    Richard Davenport-Hines

    A startling account of the history of drug abuse, this book forces us to reconsider many of our views on a controversial issue.More

  12. Book ImageSor Juana Inés de la Cruz: Selected Works

    Juana Inés de la Cruz, Edith Grossman, Anna More

    A wealth of background and analytical material makes Sor Juana's proto-feminist writings, newly translated, all the more compelling.More

  13. Book ImageEmbracing Defeat: Japan in the Wake of World War II

    John W. Dower

    Winner of the Pulitzer Prize, the 1999 National Book Award for Nonfiction, finalist for the Lionel Gelber Prize and the Kiriyama Pacific Rim Book Prize, Embracing Defeat is John W. Dower's brilliant examination of Japan in the immediate, shattering aftermath of World War II.More

  14. Book ImageThe Killing Zone: My Life in the Vietnam War

    Frederick Downs, Jr.

    “The best damned book from the point of view of the infantrymen who fought there.”—Army TimesMore

  15. Book ImageIntervention!: The United States and the Mexican Revolution, 1913-1917

    John S. D. Eisenhower

    Powerful and compelling. . . . Eisenhower is not only an accomplished military historian, he's also a storyteller in the tradition of Bruce Caton and Shelby Foote."—Steve Neal, Chicago Sun-TimesMore

Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 6 Next