World History

Pages: Prev 1 ... 2 3 4 5 NextSORT BY: Featured | Date | Title | Author
  1. Book ImageOne World Divisible: A Global History Since 1945

    David Reynolds

    "A magisterial account of our time by a distinguished historian."—Walter LaFeber, prize-winning author of The ClashMore

  2. Book ImageEmbracing Defeat: Japan in the Wake of World War II

    John W. Dower

    Winner of the Pulitzer Prize, the 1999 National Book Award for Nonfiction, finalist for the Lionel Gelber Prize and the Kiriyama Pacific Rim Book Prize, Embracing Defeat is John W. Dower's brilliant examination of Japan in the immediate, shattering aftermath of World War II.More

  3. Book ImageThe Sextants of Beijing: Global Currents in Chinese History

    Joanna Waley-Cohen

    This powerful work puts to rest the long-held myth that Chinese civilization is monolithic, unchanging, and perennially cut off from the rest of the world.More

  4. Book ImageThe Mummies of Ürümchi

    Elizabeth Wayland Barber

    In the museums of Ürümchi, the windswept regional capital of the Uyghur Autonomous Region (also known as Chinese Turkestan), a collection of ancient mummies lies at the center of an enormous mystery.More

  5. Book ImageThe Chan's Great Continent: China in Western Minds

    Jonathan D. Spence

    "Like everything else written by Jonathan Spence, The Chan's Great Continent is an absolute must-read for anyone interested in China. Spence is one of the greatest Sinologists of our time, and his work is both authoritative and highly readable." —Los Angeles Times Book ReviewMore

  6. Book ImageSemites and Anti-Semites: An Inquiry into Conflict and Prejudice

    Bernard Lewis

    "A powerful book. It combines the coolness of scholarship with conclusions that cannot fail to engage the passions."—Saul BellowMore

  7. Book ImageFirewall: The Iran-Contra Conspiracy and Cover-up

    Lawrence E. Walsh

    In its chilling and unsparing revelations, Firewall is the definitive account of the most dangerous breach of presidential authority since Watergate.More

  8. Book ImageThe Clash: U.S.-Japanese Relations Throughout History

    Walter LaFeber

    Winner of the Bancroft Prize.More

  9. Book ImageThe Great Wall and the Empty Fortress: China's Search for Security

    Andrew J. Nathan, Robert S. Ross

    "A strong antidote to the growing sinophobia in the U.S."—Wall Street JournalMore

  10. Book ImageThe Comfort Women: Japan's Brutal Regime of Enforced Prostitution in the Second World War

    George Hicks

    "The most extensive record available in English of the ugly story."—Elisabeth Rubinfein, New York NewsdayMore

  11. Book ImageGod's Chinese Son: The Taiping Heavenly Kingdom of Hong Xiuquan

    Jonathan D. Spence

    "A magnificent tapestry . . . a story that reaches beyond China into our world and time: a story of faith, hope, passion, and a fatal grandiosity."--Washington Post Book WorldMore

  12. Book ImageEvita: The Real Life of Eva Peron

    Nicholas Fraser, Marysa Navarro

    The life that inspired Evita, the major motion picture starring Madonna.More

  13. Book ImageFidel Castro

    Robert E. Quirk

    In this masterly biography, the prize-winning historian Robert E. Quirk paints a portrait of the charismatic leader who for more than three decades—and over eight American presidencies—managed to sustain a communist regime in the western hemisphere.
    More

  14. Book ImageIntervention!: The United States and the Mexican Revolution, 1913-1917

    John S. D. Eisenhower

    Powerful and compelling. . . . Eisenhower is not only an accomplished military historian, he's also a storyteller in the tradition of Bruce Caton and Shelby Foote."—Steve Neal, Chicago Sun-TimesMore

  15. Book Image21st Century Capitalism

    Robert L. Heilbroner

    "It is my hope that some grasp of what the twenty-first century holds in store for capitalism may enable us to avoid at least some of the pain we might otherwise have to endure," writes the eminent economist Robert Heilbroner in this important book on the world's economic future.More

Pages: Prev 1 ... 2 3 4 5 Next