Browse By Subject

Related Courses



Short Fiction

Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 14 NextSORT BY: Date | Title | Author
  1. Book ImageLost Lake: Stories

    Mark Slouka

    “Relentlessly observant, miraculously expressive, these [stories] see through the mirrored surface into a hidden yet strangely intimate world.” —New York Times Book ReviewMore

  2. Book ImageWe Come to Our Senses: Stories

    Odie Lindsey

    For readers of Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk and Redeployment, a searing debut exploring the lives of veterans returning to their homes in the South.More

  3. Book ImageThe Burning Ground: Stories

    Adam O'Riordan

    A debut collection of stories by a poet with a “painter’s eye for detail and pianist’s touch for sounding the right notes” (Simon Armitage).More

  4. Book ImageA Life of Adventure and Delight

    Akhil Sharma

    “There’s a great duality to these stories: simple but complex, funny enough to laugh out loud at but emotionally devastating, foreign yet familiar. What an exciting and original writer this is, and what a knock-out collection.”—David SedarisMore

  5. Book ImageShe: Fiction

    Michelle Latiolais

    “Latiolais is as close to Alice Munro as a writer can get, but with a more modern edge.”—Los Angeles TimesMore

  6. Book ImageThe Dark and Other Love Stories

    Deborah Willis

    “The emotional range and depth of [Willis’s stories], the clarity and deftness, are astonishing.”—Alice MunroMore

  7. Book ImageAlways Happy Hour: Stories

    Mary Miller

    "I adore Mary Miller's stories and you will too. Read this book and then read her others. Like, now." —Tom Franklin, author of Crooked Letter, Crooked LetterMore

  8. Book ImageThe Classic Fairy Tales

    Maria Tatar

    Second Edition

    “I have used this textbook for four courses on children’s literature with enrollments of over ninety students. It is without doubt the most well organized selection of literary fairy tales and critical commentaries currently available. Students love it.”
    —Lita Barrie, California State University, Los AngelesMore

  9. Book ImageHave I Got a Story for You: More Than a Century of Fiction from the Forward

    Ezra Glinter, Dara Horn

    A Finalist for the 2016 National Jewish Book Award

    Forty-two stories from America’s greatest Yiddish newspaper, in English for the first time.More

  10. Book ImageA Christmas Carol: The Original Manuscript Edition

    Charles Dickens, Colm Tóibín

    A first-ever trade edition of the original manuscript of the beloved Christmas classic.More

  11. Book ImageMothers, Tell Your Daughters: Stories

    Bonnie Jo Campbell

    “Bonnie Jo Campbell is a master of rural America’s postindustrial landscape.” —Boston GlobeMore

  12. Book ImageGuy de Maupassant's Selected Works

    Guy de Maupassant, Robert Lethbridge, Sandra Smith

    “Smith successfully captures Maupassant’s depiction of nineteenth-century French culture using terminology that allows these wonderful texts to reach a fresh generation of readers. A solid translation of some wonderful short stories.”
    —Library Journal
    More

  13. Book ImageThe Necklace and Other Stories: Maupassant for Modern Times

    Guy de Maupassant, Sandra Smith

    In a “lively, sparkling, and sharp-edged” (Arthur Goldhammer) new translation, Guy de Maupassant’s most beloved works are reintroduced to twenty-first-century readers.More

  14. Book ImageNight at the Fiestas: Stories

    Kirstin Valdez Quade

    Winner of the 2015 National Book Critics Circle John Leonard Prize

    "[A] sparkling debut collection…features dreamers and schemers whose lives pulsate with wild hopes, hard luck, stunning secrets, and saving grace." —ElleMore

  15. Book ImageMiss Grief and Other Stories

    Constance Fenimore Woolson, Anne Boyd Rioux, Colm Tóibín

    To celebrate her forthcoming biography of Constance Fenimore Woolson, Anne Boyd Rioux has selected the best of this classic writer’s stories.More

Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 14 Next