Fiction & Literature

Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 130 NextSORT BY: Date | Title | Author
  1. Book ImageThe Scarlet Letter and Other Writings

    Nathaniel Hawthorne, Leland S. Person

    Second Edition

    This perennially popular Norton Critical Edition has been revised to reflect the most current scholarly approaches to The Scarlet Letter—Hawthorne’s most widely read novel—as well as to the five short prose works—“Mrs. Hutchinson,” “Endicott and the Red Cross,” “Young Goodman Brown,” “The Minister’s Black Veil,” and “The Birth-mark”—that closely relate to the 1850 novel.More

  2. Book ImageThe Conference of the Birds

    Attar, Sholeh Wolpé

    Award-winning translator Sholeh Wolpé recaptures the beauty and lyricism of one of Persian literature’s most celebrated masterpieces.More

  3. Book ImageThe Underworld: A Novel

    Kevin Canty

    For readers of Russell Banks and Richard Ford, a novel about loss, love, and redemption following a catastrophe in a small mining town.More

  4. Book ImagePierre: Or, The Ambiguities

    Herman Melville, Robert S. Levine, Cindy Weinstein

    When Pierre was published one year after Moby-Dick, expectations were high. Readers expected—and Melville delivered—adventure, humor, and brilliance. Magnificent and strange, Pierre is a richly allusive novel mirroring both antebellum America and Melville’s own life.More

  5. Book ImageHarmless Like You: A Novel

    Rowan Hisayo Buchanan

    “This brilliant debut novel by Rowan Hisayo Buchanan is cause for celebration.”—Lorrie MooreMore

  6. Book ImageRoll Deep: Poems

    Major Jackson

    A whimsical and “devastatingly effective” (Washington Post) collection that captures the spirit of travel and pays homage to heritage.More

  7. Book ImageWhereas: Poems

    Stephen Dunn

    Pulitzer Prize winner Stephen Dunn examines the difficulties of telling the truth, and the fictions with which we choose to live.More

  8. Book ImageThe Dark and Other Love Stories

    Deborah Willis

    “The emotional range and depth of [Willis’s stories], the clarity and deftness, are astonishing.”—Alice MunroMore

  9. Book ImagePearl: A New Verse Translation

    Simon Armitage

    From the acclaimed translator of Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, a spellbinding new translation of this classic allegory of grief and consolation.More

  10. Book ImageThe Throwback Special: A Novel

    Chris Bachelder

    Winner of the Paris Review’s Terry Southern Prize for Humor.More

  11. Book ImageThe Twenty Days of Turin: A Novel

    Giorgio De Maria, Ramon Glazov

    Written during the height of the 1970s Italian domestic terror, a cult novel, with distinct echoes of Lovecraft and Borges, makes its English-language debut.More

  12. Book ImageNorse Mythology

    Neil Gaiman

    Introducing an instant classic—master storyteller Neil Gaiman presents a dazzling version of the great Norse myths.More

  13. Book ImageThe Illegal: A Novel

    Lawrence Hill

    “A gripping political thriller readers may find hard to put down.”—Dallas Morning NewsMore

  14. Book ImageConflict Resolution for Holy Beings: Poems

    Joy Harjo

    A musical, magical, resilient volume from one of our most celebrated and essential Native American voices.More

  15. Book ImageThe Winter in Anna: A Novel

    Reed Karaim

    The story of an unlikely and transformative connection forged between a young journalist and a woman whose past holds a terrible secret.More

Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 130 Next