Fiction & Literature

Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 128 NextSORT BY: Date | Title | Author
  1. Book ImageThe Complete Aubrey/Maturin Novels

    Patrick O'Brian

    Volume(s): 5 volumes

    “The best historical novels ever written.”—Richard Snow, New York Times Book ReviewMore

  2. Book ImageTwelve Years a Slave

    Solomon Northup, Kevin M. Burke, Henry Louis Gates, Jr.

    This Norton Critical Edition of Solomon Northup’s harrowing autobiography is based on the 1853 first edition. It is accompanied by Henry Louis Gates, Jr.’s introduction and detailed explanatory footnotes.More

  3. Book ImageThe Scarlet Letter and Other Writings

    Nathaniel Hawthorne, Leland S. Person

    Second Edition

    This perennially popular Norton Critical Edition has been revised to reflect the most current scholarly approaches to The Scarlet Letter—Hawthorne’s most widely read novel—as well as to the five short prose works—“Mrs. Hutchinson,” “Endicott and the Red Cross,” “Young Goodman Brown,” “The Minister’s Black Veil,” and “The Birth-mark”—that closely relate to the 1850 novel.More

  4. Book ImageRomeo and Juliet

    William Shakespeare, Gordon McMullan

    This much-anticipated Norton Critical Edition of Shakespeare’s best-known play is based on the Second Quarto, widely agreed to be the most authoritative early text.More

  5. Book ImageThe Unseen World: A Novel

    Liz Moore

    The moving story of a daughter’s quest to discover the truth about her beloved father’s hidden past.More

  6. Book ImageWe Come to Our Senses: Stories

    Odie Lindsey

    For readers of Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk and Redeployment, a searing debut exploring the lives of veterans returning to their homes in the South.More

  7. Book ImageHere Comes the Sun: A Novel

    Nicole Dennis-Benn

    In this radiant, highly anticipated debut, a cast of unforgettable women battle for independence while a maelstrom of change threatens their Jamaican village.More

  8. Book ImageMiss Jane: A Novel

    Brad Watson

    Astonishing prose brings to life a forgotten woman and a lost world in a strange and bittersweet Southern pastoral.More

  9. Book ImageMortal Trash: Poems

    Kim Addonizio

    “Kim Addonizio’s voice lifts from the page, alive and biting—unleashing wit with a ruthless observation.”—San Francisco Book ReviewMore

  10. Book ImageCollected Poems: 1950–2012

    Adrienne Rich, Claudia Rankine

    The collected works of Adrienne Rich, whose poetry is “distinguished by an unswerving progressive vision and a dazzling, empathic ferocity” (New York Times).More

  11. Book ImageDivine Nothingness: Poems

    Gerald Stern

    From the National Book Award–winning author of This Time, a new volume of poems that explore the very nature of existence.More

  12. Book ImagePride and Prejudice

    Jane Austen, Donald Gray, Mary A. Favret

    Fourth Edition

    The Norton Critical Edition of Pride and Prejudice has been revised to reflect the most current scholarly approaches to Austen’s most widely read novel.More

  13. Book ImageSor Juana Inés de la Cruz: Selected Works

    Juana Inés de la Cruz, Edith Grossman, Anna More

    A wealth of background and analytical material makes Sor Juana's proto-feminist writings, newly translated, all the more compelling.More

  14. Book ImageBellow's People: How Saul Bellow Made Life Into Art

    David Mikics

    A leading literary critic’s innovative study of how the Nobel Prize–winning author turned life into art.More

  15. Book ImageBest Boy: A Novel

    Eli Gottlieb

    New York Times Editor's Choice
    People Magazine Pick of the Week
    A Washington Post Notable Book of 2015
    Library Journal Top Ten Books of 2015
    BookPage Top Five Books of 2015

    "Raw and beautiful. . . . What rises and shines from the page is Todd Aaron, a hero of such singular character and clear spirit that you will follow him anywhere. You won’t just root for him, you will fight and push and pray for him to wrest control of his future. You will read this book in one sitting or maybe two, and, I promise, you will miss this man deeply when you are done.”—Ann Bauer, Washington PostMore

Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 128 Next