Latin American History

Pages: 1 2 NextSORT BY: Date | Title | Author
  1. Book ImageOur Sister Republics: The United States in an Age of American Revolutions

    Caitlin Fitz

    A major new interpretation recasts U.S. history between revolution and civil war, exposing a dramatic reversal in sympathy toward Latin American revolutions.More

  2. Book ImageBorn in Blood and Fire: A Concise History of Latin America

    John Charles Chasteen

    Fourth Edition

    The most readable, highly regarded, and affordable history of Latin America for our times.More

  3. Book ImageBorn in Blood and Fire: Latin American Voices

    John Charles Chasteen

    Second Edition

    The companion reader to the most readable, highly regarded, and affordable history of Latin America for our times.More

  4. Book ImageThe Underdogs

    Mariano Azuela, Ilan Stavans, Anna More

    Mariano Azuela’s classic novel of the Mexican Revolution is now available as a Norton Critical Edition.More

  5. Book ImageThe Life and Times of Mexico

    Earl Shorris

    A San Francisco Chronicle Best Book of the Year. "A work of scope and profound insight into the divided soul of Mexico." —History TodayMore

  6. Book ImageIn the Language of Kings: An Anthology of Mesoamerican Literature, Pre-Columbian to the Present

    Miguel Leon-Portilla, Earl Shorris

    The first anthology in any language to represent the full trajectory of this remarkable literature.More

  7. Book ImageLatinos: A Biography of the People

    Earl Shorris

    "Brilliant.... A loving and detailed celebration of a diverse, beautiful and often astounding people."—Laurence Gonzales, Chicago TribuneMore

  8. Book ImageTwilight on the Line: Underworlds and Politics at the Mexican Border

    Sebastian Rotella

    Drugs, smuggling, gangs, corruption, heroes, martyrs, and assassins on the Tijuana-San Diego border.More

  9. Book ImageEvita: The Real Life of Eva Peron

    Nicholas Fraser, Marysa Navarro

    The life that inspired Evita, the major motion picture starring Madonna.More

  10. Book ImageFidel Castro

    Robert E. Quirk

    In this masterly biography, the prize-winning historian Robert E. Quirk paints a portrait of the charismatic leader who for more than three decades—and over eight American presidencies—managed to sustain a communist regime in the western hemisphere.
    More

  11. Book ImageIntervention!: The United States and the Mexican Revolution, 1913-1917

    John S. D. Eisenhower

    Powerful and compelling. . . . Eisenhower is not only an accomplished military historian, he's also a storyteller in the tradition of Bruce Caton and Shelby Foote."—Steve Neal, Chicago Sun-TimesMore

  12. Book ImageTriumphs and Tragedy: A History of the Mexican People

    Ramón Eduardo Ruíz

    A narrative study of Mexico's tumultuous origin and development--from its Olmec, Aztec and Mayan heritage to its present-day incarnation as an independent, but struggling, modern country.More

  13. Book ImageHernando Cortés: Five Letters, 1519-1526

    Hernando Cortes, Bayard J. Morris

    “In the letters of Cortés we have a clear picture of Mexico through the simple eyes of the conqueror who admires his enemies. . . . He could write a masterly report. The second and the third letters are the clearest piece of narrative that we can ask for. We see the advance into the country, the conscientious determination to penetrate by peace, diplomacy or the sword to Montezuma’s capital, leading up to the final dramatic meeting with Montezuma himself.” —New StatesmanMore

  14. Book ImageNicaragua

    William Frank Gentile

    Haunting and soul-searching, William Frank Gentile's photographs of Nicaragua portray a simple, innocent people trying to make a life amid a brutal, U.S.-funded war.More

  15. Book ImageThe Cocaine Wars

    Paul Eddy, Hugo Sabogal, Sara Walden

    Additional information is forthcoming.

Pages: 1 2 Next