American History

Pages: Prev 1 ... 5 6 7 8 ... 27 NextSORT BY: Date | Title | Author
  1. Book ImageDancing in the Dark: A Cultural History of the Great Depression

    Morris Dickstein

    A National Book Critics Circle finalist: "The definitive book about Depression culture for our time."—San Francisco ChronicleMore

  2. Book ImageRonald Reagan: Fate, Freedom, and the Making of History

    John Patrick Diggins

    An important reassessment of the fortieth president, placing him in the pantheon with Abraham Lincoln and Franklin Roosevelt.More

  3. Book ImageThe Proud Decades: America in War and Peace, 1941-1960

    John Patrick Diggins

    "Richly instructive. . . . With characteristic cogency and verve John Diggins has painted a memorable portrait of the United States at a triumphant moment in its history."—David M. Kennedy, Stanford UniversityMore

  4. Book ImageThe Rise and Fall of the American Left

    John Patrick Diggins

    “Informative and useful. . . . A balanced history of leftist American politics in the 20th century. . . . Admirably nonpartisan.” —Jonathan Yardley, Washington PostMore

  5. Book ImageFrom Bible Belt to Sunbelt: Plain-Folk Religion, Grassroots Politics, and the Rise of Evangelical Conservatism

    Darren Dochuk

    A prize-winning, five-decade history of the evangelical movement in Southern California that explains a sweeping realignment of American politics.More

  6. Book ImageOregon: A History

    Gordon B. Dodds

    To many Americans, Oregon is an idyllic, fruitful garden on the northwestern shore of a troubled urban nation. But, as author Gordon B. Dodds explains in this thoughtful history, behind that image lies the story of a state that has retained many of the conservative values of its first settlers while accommodating the forces of national development.More

  7. Book ImageWhen America First Met China: An Exotic History of Tea, Drugs, and Money in the Age of Sail

    Eric Jay Dolin

    Ancient China collides with newfangled America in this epic tale of opium smugglers, sea pirates, and dueling clipper ships.More

  8. Book ImageFur, Fortune, and Empire: The Epic History of the Fur Trade in America

    Eric Jay Dolin

    A Seattle Times selection for one of Best Non-Fiction Books of 2010
    Winner of the New England Historial Association's 2010 James P. Hanlan Award
    Winner of the Outdoor Writers Association of America 2011 Excellence in Craft Award, Book Division, First Place

    "A compelling and well-annotated tale of greed, slaughter and geopolitics." —Los Angeles TimesMore

  9. Book ImageLeviathan: The History of Whaling in America

    Eric Jay Dolin

    The epic history of the "iron men in wooden boats" who built an industrial empire through the pursuit of whales. "To produce a mighty book, you must choose a mighty theme," Herman Melville proclaimed, and this absorbing history demonstrates that few things can capture the...More

  10. Book ImageThe Killing Zone: My Life in the Vietnam War

    Frederick Downs, Jr.

    “The best damned book from the point of view of the infantrymen who fought there.”—Army TimesMore

  11. Book ImageCoastal Maine: A Maritime History

    Roger F. Duncan, Earle G. Barlow, Kathy Bray, Et Al.

    A fascinating and comprehensive chronicle of four hundred years of maritime history along the Maine coast.More

  12. Book ImageThe Norton Mix: American History

    Karen Dunn-Haley, Stephen K. Davis, Matthew Schoenbachler, Et Al.

    Norton History, your way.More

  13. Book ImageSeeds of Southern Change: The Life of Will Alexander

    Wilma Dykeman, James Stokely

    “The story is a good one . . . for it exposes in an intimate and personal way the qualities of an important social architect of our time.” —Dewey Grantham, American Historical ReviewMore

  14. Book ImageDear America: Letters Home from Vietnam

    Bernard Edelman

    "An overwhelmingly eloquent book of the purest and most simple writing on Vietnam."—David HalberstamMore

  15. Book ImageIntervention!: The United States and the Mexican Revolution, 1913-1917

    John S. D. Eisenhower

    Powerful and compelling. . . . Eisenhower is not only an accomplished military historian, he's also a storyteller in the tradition of Bruce Caton and Shelby Foote."—Steve Neal, Chicago Sun-TimesMore

Pages: Prev 1 ... 5 6 7 8 ... 27 Next