Related Subjects



Biography

Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 29 NextSORT BY: Date | Title | Author
  1. Book ImageKafka's Last Trial: The Case of a Literary Legacy

    Benjamin Balint

    The story of the international struggle to preserve Kafka’s literary legacy.More

  2. Book ImageSargent's Women: Four Lives Behind the Canvas

    Donna M. Lucey

    A New York Times Book Review Editors’ Choice Selection

    “[Lucey] delivers the goods, disclosing the unhappy or colorful lives that Sargent sometimes hinted at but didn’t spell out.”—Boston GlobeMore

  3. Book ImageEmpress: The Astonishing Reign of Nur Jahan

    Ruby Lal

    Four centuries ago, a Muslim woman ruled an empire.More

  4. Book ImageTesla: Inventor of the Modern

    Richard Munson

    Tesla’s inventions transformed our world, and his visions have continued to inspire great minds for generations.More

  5. Book ImageA Spy Named Orphan: The Enigma of Donald Maclean

    Roland Philipps

    The first full biography of one of the twentieth century’s most notorious spies.More

  6. Book ImageBerenice Abbott: A Life in Photography

    Julia Van Haaften

    The comprehensive biography of the iconic twentieth-century American photographer Berenice Abbott, a trailblazing documentary modernist, author, and inventor.More

  7. Book Image“Surely You’re Joking, Mr. Feynman!”: Adventures of a Curious Character

    Richard P. Feynman, Bill Gates, Ralph Leighton

    One of the most famous science books of our time, the phenomenal national bestseller that "buzzes with energy, anecdote and life. It almost makes you want to become a physicist" (Science Digest).More

  8. Book Image"What Do You Care What Other People Think?": Further Adventures of a Curious Character

    Richard P. Feynman, Ralph Leighton

    The New York Times best-selling sequel to "Surely You’re Joking, Mr. Feynman!"More

  9. Book ImageThe Age of Caesar: Five Roman Lives

    Plutarch, James Romm, Pamela Mensch, Et Al.

    “Plutarch regularly shows that great leaders transcend their own purely material interests and petty, personal vanities. Noble ideals actually do matter, in government as in life.” —Michael Dirda, Washington PostMore

  10. Book ImageThe Undoing Project: A Friendship That Changed Our Minds

    Michael Lewis

    “Brilliant. . . . Lewis has given us a spectacular account of two great men who faced up to uncertainty and the limits of human reason.” —William Easterly, Wall Street JournalMore

  11. Book ImageYou Must Change Your Life: The Story of Rainer Maria Rilke and Auguste Rodin

    Rachel Corbett

    Winner of the 2016 Marfield PrizeMore

  12. Book ImageSchlesinger: The Imperial Historian

    Richard Aldous

    The first major biography of preeminent historian and intellectual Arthur Schlesinger Jr., a defining figure in Kennedy’s White House.More

  13. Book ImageA Revolution in Color: The World of John Singleton Copley

    Jane Kamensky

    "A stunning biography…[A] truly singular account of the American Revolution." —Amanda Foreman, author of A World on FireMore

  14. Book ImageThe Collector of Lives: Giorgio Vasari and the Invention of Art

    Ingrid Rowland, Noah Charney

    In the tradition of The Swerve and How to Live, this vivid biography reveals how a Renaissance scholar reshaped the visual world.More

  15. Book ImageGorbachev: His Life and Times

    William Taubman

    A National Book Critics Circle Award Finalist

    The definitive biography of the transformational world leader by the Pulitzer Prize–winning author of Khrushchev.More

Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 29 Next