Reading Guides





Reading Guides

Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 14 NextSORT BY: Date | Title | Author
  1. Book ImageSargent's Women

    Donna M. Lucey

    A New York Times Book Review Editors’ Choice Selection

    “[Lucey] delivers the goods, disclosing the unhappy or colorful lives that Sargent sometimes hinted at but didn’t spell out.”—Boston GlobeMore

  2. Book ImageEvensong

    Kate Southwood

    A penetrating and powerful novel about the deep undercurrents of love and regret in one Midwestern family.More

  3. Book ImageWedding Toasts I'll Never Give

    Ada Calhoun

    Seven essays celebrating the beauty of the imperfect marriage.More

  4. Book ImageThe Outrun

    Amy Liptrot

    “It’s wild writing: sexy, unguarded, raw, and ardent … highly recommended.”—The MillionsMore

  5. Book ImageJewish Comedy

    Jeremy Dauber

    Finalist for the National Jewish Book Award

    A rich account of Jewish humor: its nature, its development, and its vital role throughout history.More

  6. Book ImageDogs at the Perimeter

    Madeleine Thien

    The second novel by the Man Booker Prize shortlisted author Madeleine Thien is "beautiful, deeply moving, [and] addresses universal questions" (Independent).More

  7. Book ImageDo Not Say We Have Nothing

    Madeleine Thien

    Winner of the Scotiabank Giller Prize and the Governor General's Literary Award // Finalist for the Man Booker Prize and the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction

    "A powerfully expansive novel…Thien writes with the mastery of a conductor." —New York Times Book ReviewMore

  8. Book ImageFrom Here to Eternity

    Caitlin Doughty

    A New York Times and Los Angeles Times Bestseller

    The best-selling author of Smoke Gets in Your Eyes expands our sense of what it means to treat the dead with "dignity."More

  9. Book ImageThe Gustav Sonata

    Rose Tremain

    Winner of the 2016 National Jewish Book Award for Fiction

    A poignant tale about the enduring friendship between two men under the shadow of the Second World War.More

  10. Book ImageMidwinter Break

    Bernard MacLaverty

    For readers of Colm Toíbín, a moving portrait of a marriage in crisis and a couple’s search for salvation.More

  11. Book ImageThe Book That Matters Most

    Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets, friendship, and the healing power of literature, by the bestselling author of The Knitting Circle.More

  12. Book ImageMiss Jane

    Brad Watson

    Longlisted for the National Book Award for Fiction: Astonishing prose brings to life a forgotten woman and a lost world in a strange and bittersweet Southern pastoral.More

  13. Book ImageNo Apparent Distress

    Rachel Pearson

    A brutally frank memoir about doctors and patients in a health care system that puts the poor at risk.More

  14. Book ImagePiece of Mind

    Michelle Adelman

    Told with warmth and intelligence, Piece of Mind introduces one of the most endearing and heroic characters in contemporary fiction.More

  15. Book ImageHarmless Like You

    Rowan Hisayo Buchanan

    “This brilliant debut novel by Rowan Hisayo Buchanan is cause for celebration.”—Lorrie MooreMore

Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 14 Next