Reading Guides





Reading Guides

Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 13 NextSORT BY: Date | Title | Author
  1. Book ImageMidwinter Break

    Bernard MacLaverty

    For readers of Colm Toíbín, a moving portrait of a marriage in crisis and a couple’s search for salvation.More

  2. Book ImageEvensong

    Kate Southwood

    A penetrating and powerful novel about the deep undercurrents of love and regret in one Midwestern family.More

  3. Book ImageNo Apparent Distress

    Rachel Pearson

    A brutally frank memoir about doctors and patients in a health care system that puts the poor at risk.More

  4. Book ImagePiece of Mind

    Michelle Adelman

    Told with warmth and intelligence, Piece of Mind introduces one of the most endearing and heroic characters in contemporary fiction.More

  5. Book ImageMothers, Tell Your Daughters

    Bonnie Jo Campbell

    “Bonnie Jo Campbell is a master of rural America’s postindustrial landscape.” —Boston GlobeMore

  6. Book ImageThe Book That Matters Most

    Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets, friendship, and the healing power of literature, by the bestselling author of The Knitting Circle.More

  7. Book ImageDragonfish

    Vu Tran

    “Richly satisfying work. . . . [Has] a place on the top shelf of literary thrillers.” —Gerald Bartell, San Francisco ChronicleMore

  8. Book ImageMiss Jane

    Brad Watson

    Longlisted for the National Book Award for Fiction: Astonishing prose brings to life a forgotten woman and a lost world in a strange and bittersweet Southern pastoral.More

  9. Book ImageThe Love She Left Behind

    Amanda Coe

    A bitingly comic exploration of an unforgettably dysfunctional family, from a writer who wields great "comic rhythm" (The New Yorker). This ferociously funny family saga journeys into the mysteries of many kinds of love.More

  10. Book ImageThe Green Road

    Anne Enright

    “With language so vibrant it practically has a pulse, Enright makes an exquisitely drawn case for the possibility of growth, love and transformation at any age.” —PeopleMore

  11. Book ImageParis Red

    Maureen Gibbon

    For readers of Girl with a Pearl Earring, a “beautiful, brilliant, delicious” (Elizabeth McCracken) novel about Edouard Manet’s muse.More

  12. Book ImageNight at the Fiestas

    Kirstin Valdez Quade

    Winner of the 2015 National Book Critics Circle John Leonard Prize

    "[A] sparkling debut collection…features dreamers and schemers whose lives pulsate with wild hopes, hard luck, stunning secrets, and saving grace." —ElleMore

  13. Book ImageThe End of Karma

    Somini Sengupta

    A penetrating, personal look at contemporary India—the world’s largest democracy at a moment of transition.More

  14. Book ImageMiss Grief and Other Stories

    Constance Fenimore Woolson, Anne Boyd Rioux, Colm Tóibín

    To celebrate her forthcoming biography of Constance Fenimore Woolson, Anne Boyd Rioux has selected the best of this classic writer’s stories.More

  15. Book ImageConstance Fenimore Woolson

    Anne Boyd Rioux

    "Biography at its best aims at resurrection. Anne Boyd Rioux has brought the novelist Constance Fenimore Woolson back to life for us. Hurrah!" —Robert D. Richardson, author of the Bancroft Prize–winning William James: In the Maelstrom of American ModernismMore

Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 13 Next