Reading Guides





Reading Guides

Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 14 NextSORT BY: Date | Title | Author
  1. Book ImageDogs at the Perimeter

    Madeleine Thien

    The first novel by the Man Booker Prize shortlisted author Madeleine Thien— “beautiful, deeply moving . . . addresses universal questions” (The Independent).More

  2. Book ImageMidwinter Break

    Bernard MacLaverty

    For readers of Colm Toíbín, a moving portrait of a marriage in crisis and a couple’s search for salvation.More

  3. Book ImageEvensong

    Kate Southwood

    A penetrating and powerful novel about the deep undercurrents of love and regret in one Midwestern family.More

  4. Book ImageEvensong

    Kate Southwood

    A penetrating and powerful novel about the deep undercurrents of love and regret in one Midwestern family.More

  5. Book ImageWedding Toasts I'll Never Give

    Ada Calhoun

    Inspired by her viral New York Times “Modern Love” essay “The Wedding Toast I’ll Never Give”, Ada Calhoun’s memoir is a witty, poignant exploration of the beautiful complexity of marriage.More

  6. Book ImageNo Apparent Distress

    Rachel Pearson

    A brutally frank memoir about doctors and patients in a health care system that puts the poor at risk.More

  7. Book ImageThe Outrun

    Amy Liptrot

    The Outrun will no doubt sit alongside . . . Helen Macdonald’s H Is for Hawk—the sheer sensuality of Liptrot’s prose and her steely resolve immediately put her right up there with the best of the best.”—New StatesmanMore

  8. Book ImagePiece of Mind

    Michelle Adelman

    Told with warmth and intelligence, Piece of Mind introduces one of the most endearing and heroic characters in contemporary fiction.More

  9. Book ImageHarmless Like You

    Rowan Hisayo Buchanan

    “This brilliant debut novel by Rowan Hisayo Buchanan is cause for celebration.”—Lorrie MooreMore

  10. Book ImageMothers, Tell Your Daughters

    Bonnie Jo Campbell

    “Bonnie Jo Campbell is a master of rural America’s postindustrial landscape.” —Boston GlobeMore

  11. Book ImageThe Gustav Sonata

    Rose Tremain

    Winner of the 2016 National Jewish Book Award for Fiction

    A breathtakingly radiant story of an unlikely childhood friendship that survives the test of time.More

  12. Book ImageThe Book That Matters Most

    Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets, friendship, and the healing power of literature, by the bestselling author of The Knitting Circle.More

  13. Book ImageDragonfish

    Vu Tran

    “Richly satisfying work. . . . [Has] a place on the top shelf of literary thrillers.” —Gerald Bartell, San Francisco ChronicleMore

  14. Book ImageMiss Jane

    Brad Watson

    Longlisted for the National Book Award for Fiction: Astonishing prose brings to life a forgotten woman and a lost world in a strange and bittersweet Southern pastoral.More

  15. Book ImageThe Love She Left Behind

    Amanda Coe

    A bitingly comic exploration of an unforgettably dysfunctional family, from a writer who wields great "comic rhythm" (The New Yorker). This ferociously funny family saga journeys into the mysteries of many kinds of love.More

Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 14 Next