Related to This Book

Other Sites



We Come to Our Senses

Stories

Odie Lindsey (Author)

Overview | Formats
 

For readers of Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk and Redeployment, a searing debut exploring the lives of veterans returning to their homes in the South.

Lacerating and lyrical, We Come to Our Senses centers on men and women affected by combat directly and tangentially, and the peculiar legacies of war. The story “Evie M.” is about a vet turned office clerk whose petty neuroses derail even her suicide; in “We Come to Our Senses,” a hip young couple leaves the city for the sticks, trading film festivals for firearms; in “Colleen” a woman redeploys to her Mississippi hometown, and confronts the superior who abused her at war; and in “11/19/98” a couple obsesses over sitcoms and retail catalogs, extracting joy and deeper meaning. The story “Hers” is about the sexual politics of a combat zone.

Book Details

  • Paperback
  • July 2017
  • ISBN 978-0-393-35419-5
  • 5.5 × 8.2 in / 208 pages
  • Sales Territory: Worldwide including Canada, Singapore and Malaysia, but excluding the British Commonwealth.

Other Formats

  1. Book CoverWe Come to Our Senses: Stories

    Hardcover

Endorsements & Reviews

“This is almost a novel in stories, thematically linked like Phil Klay’s Redeployment, but more particular in its examination of the new American veteran.” — New York Times Book Review

“Lindsey’s debut artfully portrays the American South....Lindsey’s lyrical, frenetic prose calls to mind Barry Hannah; and, like Hannah, he imparts a grim and pitying hope to his characters.” — Booklist (starred review)

“I read Odie Lindsey’s We Come to Our Senses in a way that books rarely compel me to…Not only compulsively readable, the thoughts these war stories stirred were rich and complex and heartening in their universal humanity. This is a remarkable collection by a splendid new writer.” — Robert Olen Butler, Pulitzer Prize-winner and author of A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain

“The debut we hope for: heart-quickening, kinetic, relentless in its engagement with our time.” — Paul Yoon

“With a searing insightfulness and a dark humor all his own, Odie Lindsey holds up a powerful lens to an experience of modern American warfare that has been largely ignored in fiction—that of female veterans. This is collection about how the battles we wage with the external world are really only half the fight.” — Bonnie Jo Campbell, National Book Award Finalist and author of Once Upon a River

“[A] gritty and ambitious debut collection…Odie Lindsey is an innovative and consummate prose stylist.” — Mary Miller, author of The Last Days of California

All Subjects