Related to This Book

Other Sites



The Land at the End of the World

A Novel

António Lobo Antunes (Author), Margaret Jull Costa (Translator)

 

"Brilliant…harrowing…Packs the impact of an exploding mortar shell." —Kai Maristed, Los Angeles Times

In the tradition of William Faulkner and Gabriel García Márquez, one of the twentieth century’s most original literary voices offers "kaleidoscopic visions of a modern Portugal scarred by its Fascist past and its bloody colonial wars in Africa" (Paris Review). Hailed as a masterpiece of world literature, The Land at the End of the World—in an acclaimed translation by Margaret Jull Costa—recounts the anguished tale of a Portuguese medic haunted by memories of war. Like the Ancient Mariner who will tell his tale to anyone who listens, the narrator’s evening unfolds like a fever dream that is both tragic and haunting. The result is one of the great war novels of the modern age.

Book Details

  • Paperback
  • June 2012
  • ISBN 978-0-393-34233-8
  • 5.5 × 8.3 in / 224 pages
  • Sales Territory: Worldwide

Endorsements & Reviews

Also by António Lobo Antunes All

  1. Book CoverThe Fat Man and Infinity: And Other Writings

    Hardcover

  2. Book CoverWhat Can I Do When Everything's On Fire?: A Novel

    Paperback

All Subjects