U.S. Foreign Relations

SORT BY: Date | Title | Author
  1. Book ImageEisenhower and Berlin, 1945: The Decision to Halt at the Elbe

    Stephen E. Ambrose

    In the final months of World War II, with the Allied forces streaming into Germany on two fronts, a major decision had to be made: where to draw a stop line to prevent an accidental clash between the Russian and the Anglo-American armies.More

  2. Book ImageThirteen Days: A Memoir of the Cuban Missile Crisis

    Robert F. Kennedy, Arthur Meier Schlesinger

    "A minor classic in its laconic, spare, compelling evocation by a participant of the shifting moods and maneuvers of the most dangerous moment in human history."—Arthur M. Schlesinger, Jr.More

  3. Book ImageFirewall: The Iran-Contra Conspiracy and Cover-up

    Lawrence E. Walsh

    In its chilling and unsparing revelations, Firewall is the definitive account of the most dangerous breach of presidential authority since Watergate.More

  4. Book ImageThe Clash: U.S.-Japanese Relations Throughout History

    Walter LaFeber

    Winner of the Bancroft Prize.More

  5. Book ImageIntervention!: The United States and the Mexican Revolution, 1913-1917

    John S. D. Eisenhower

    Powerful and compelling. . . . Eisenhower is not only an accomplished military historian, he's also a storyteller in the tradition of Bruce Caton and Shelby Foote."—Steve Neal, Chicago Sun-TimesMore

  6. Book ImageThe American Age: U.S. Foreign Policy at Home and Abroad

    Walter LaFeber

    Second Edition / Volume(s): One-Volume / 1750 to the Present

    In this leading text, Walter LaFeber offers a comprehensive history of American foreign relations from the mid-eighteenth century to the present. His narrative account features several major themes: the connections between U.S. foreign policy and domestic politics; the impact of American economic development on foreign policy interests; popular culture, particularly film, as a filter for public opinion on American commitments abroad; the roles of public opinion, leadership, and bureaucracy in the formation of policy.More

  7. Book ImageOn Every Front: The Making and Unmaking of the Cold War

    Thomas G. Paterson

    Revised Edition

    How and why did the Cold War begin? How and why did it end? What will its end mean for international relations?More

  8. Book ImageAmerica in Vietnam: A Documentary History

    William Appleman Williams, Thomas McCormick, Lloyd C. Gardner, Et Al.

    This collection of essays and documents, written and compiled by four distinguished historians, is an essential source book for anyone seeking to understand the causes, character, and consequences of American involvement in Vietnam.More

  9. Book ImageThe Spanish War: An American Epic 1898

    G. J. A. O'Toole

    "O'Toole is . . . astonishingly good. . . . [He] is a master of the knack of weaving significant detail into his recapitulation of the war." —Alden Whitman, Chicago Sun-TimesMore