• Available: Ships in 1-2 days
  • Our Retail Price: $15.95

Related to This Book

Other Sites



The Storyteller of Marrakesh

A Novel

Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya (Author)

 

"An enigmatic fable in the tradition of 'The Thousand and One Nights.' " —Anderson Tepper, New York Times Book Review

Hassan, a storyteller, has gathered listeners in Marrakesh’s fabled Jemaa el Fna to perform his annual re-creation of the night on which two foreigners mysteriously disappeared from the square. But as his audience offers contradicting testimonies, and details transform or dissolve in the haze of memory, the couple takes on an air as enigmatic as their fate, leaving us to wonder whether Hassan is getting closer to the truth or, more disturbingly, is himself part of the mystery.

Book Details

  • Paperback
  • February 2012
  • ISBN 978-0-393-34061-7
  • 5.5 × 8.3 in / 368 pages
  • Sales Territory: Worldwide including Canada, but excluding the British Commonwealth.

Other Formats

  1. Book CoverThe Storyteller of Marrakesh: A Novel

    Hardcover

Endorsements & Reviews

“Roy-Bhattacharya’s descriptive powers are acute, and Marrakesh, the Djemaa, the Sahara, and the High Atlas Mountains are vividly rendered through all the senses.” — Thomas Gaughan, Booklist

“Stepped in the ambience of Marrakesh.” — Library Journal

“A multilayered novel that juxtaposes the artistry of narration with a collision of cultures in the Jemaa. . . . Lyrical.” — Russ Mayes, Richmond Examiner

All Subjects