The Selected Canterbury Tales

A New Verse Translation

Geoffrey Chaucer (Author), Sheila Fisher (Translator)

 

"A truly remarkable achievement." —Barry Unsworth

In the tradition of Seamus Heaney’s Beowulf and Marie Borroff’s Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, Sheila Fisher’s The Selected Canterbury Tales is a vivid, lively, and readable translation of the most famous work of England’s premier medieval poet. Preserving Chaucer’s rhyme and meter, Fisher makes these tales accessible to a contemporary ear while inviting readers to the Middle English original on facing pages. Her informative introduction highlights Chaucer’s artistic originality in his memorable portrayals of surprisingly modern women and men from across the spectrum of medieval society.

Book Details

  • Paperback
  • April 2012
  • ISBN 978-0-393-34178-2
  • 5.5 × 8.3 in / 800 pages
  • Sales Territory: Worldwide

Endorsements & Reviews

“In setting the scene for an informed understanding of Chaucer and his background, Fisher shows herself a true professional.” — Peter Green, New Republic

“Shelia Fisher's vibrant new verse translation captures in contemporary English the rhymes, the rhythms, the wit, the earnestness, and the game of the best-known Canterbury Tales.” — Warren Ginsberg, Knight Professor of the Humanities, Univeristy of Oregon

Also by Geoffrey Chaucer All

  1. Book CoverThe Canterbury Tales: Seventeen Tales and the General Prologue

    Third Edition / Paperback

  2. Book CoverDream Visions and Other Poems

    Paperback

  3. Book CoverTroilus and Criseyde

    Paperback

All Subjects

Appropriate For