The Collected Poems of Eugenio Montale

1925-1977

Eugenio Montale (Author), William Arrowsmith (Translator), Rosanna Warren (Editor, Boston University)

 

A majestic translation of one of the Nobel Prize-winning masters of twentieth-century poetry.

Hailed as one of the key poets of the modern era, Eugenio Montale changed Italian poetry forever and helped to create international Modernism. Steeped in the tradition of Dante, Petrarch, and Leopardi, yet fiercely innovative, in each new book Montale challenged the styles he had previously established. His poems chart an adventure of consciousness and conscience in response to the shocks of modernity, fascism, and two world wars, and they also present several of the greatest erotic sequences in modern poetry.

The Collected Poems of Eugenio Montale publishes for the first time in English William Arrowsmith’s pellucid translations of Poetic Diary 1971, 1972, and the Poetic Notebook, as well as his previously published translations of four volumes: Cuttlefish Bones, The Occasions, The Storm and Other Things, and Satura. With the wide range of Montale’s poetry at last available to the English reader, this collection reveals Montale to be the greatest Italian poet of the twentieth century.

Book Details

  • Hardcover
  • January 2012
  • ISBN 978-0-393-08063-6
  • 6.5 × 9.6 in / 832 pages
  • Sales Territory: USA and Dependencies, Philippines and Canada.

Also by Eugenio Montale All

  1. Book CoverPoetic Diaries 1971 and 1972

    Paperback

  2. Book CoverPoetic Notebook 1974–1977

    Paperback

Also by William Arrowsmith All

  1. Book CoverPoetic Diaries 1971 and 1972

    Paperback

  2. Book CoverPoetic Notebook 1974–1977

    Paperback

Also by Rosanna Warren All

  1. Book CoverDeparture: Poems

    Paperback

  2. Book CoverEach Leaf Shines Separate

    Paperback

  3. Book CoverGhost in a Red Hat: Poems

    Paperback

All Subjects