Browse By Subject

Related Courses



Fiction

Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 68 NextSORT BY: Date | Title | Author
  1. Book ImageA Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court

    Mark Twain, Henry B. Wonham

    “An exciting new edition of a Twain text that raises important questions about modernity, technology, and progress. I especially welcome the inclusion of all of Dan Beard’s original illustrations.”
    —BEVERLY LYON CLARK, Wheaton College
    “Artfully designed to make Mark Twain’s ‘most conceptually ambitious and most wildly problematic novel’ accessible to today’s reader.”

    —THOMAS COOLEY, The Ohio State University
    More

  2. Book ImageThe Gustav Sonata: A Novel

    Rose Tremain

    Winner of the 2016 National Jewish Book Award for Fiction

    A poignant tale about the enduring friendship between two men under the shadow of the Second World War.More

  3. Book ImageThalia: A Texas Trilogy

    Larry McMurtry

    The renaissance of Larry McMurtry, “an alchemist who converts the basest materials to gold” (New York Times Book Review), continues with the publication of Thalia.More

  4. Book ImageThe Red Car: A Novel

    Marcy Dermansky

    “Sharp and fiery. . . . There is, now, a literary term for a book you can’t stop reading. . . . It is The Red Car.”—New York Times Book ReviewMore

  5. Book ImageThe Awakening

    Kate Chopin, Margo Culley

    Third Edition

    “I have used the Norton Critical Editions since graduate school. As a teacher of high-school literature, I find them to be excellent resources for the study of various novels, plays, etc."—Brooke Gifford, Vincent Middle High SchoolMore

  6. Book ImageEl Paso: A Novel

    Winston Groom

    Three decades after the first publication of Forrest Gump, Winston Groom returns to fiction with this sweeping American epic.More

  7. Book ImageUncle Tom's Cabin

    Harriet Beecher Stowe, Elizabeth Ammons

    Third Edition

    “Elizabeth Ammons has produced a first-rate Norton Critical Edition with Uncle Tom’s Cabin.” —Mason I. Lowance, Jr., University of Massachusetts Amherst  “I will definitely use this edition again. The critical materials at the end of the book helped my students to have informed, productive class discussions.”  —Heidi Oberholtzer Lee, University of Notre DameMore

  8. Book ImageThe Portrait of a Lady

    Henry James, Michael Gorra

    “Michael Gorra’s wise and worldly new critical edition of James’s first masterpiece will help readers of all persuasions appreciate The Portrait of a Lady as a brilliant experiment in the art of the novel; as a landmark in the emergence of American literature; and as an open-ended, quietly terrifying meditation on American identity in its encounter with the world.” —Mary Loeffelholz, Northeastern UniversityMore

  9. Book ImageWhen the World Was Steady: A Novel

    Claire Messud

    A PEN/Faulkner Award finalist about two sisters’ divergent paths, from the author of The Burning Girl and The Emperor’s Children.More

  10. Book ImageThe Burning Girl: A Novel

    Claire Messud

    A bracing, hypnotic coming-of-age story about the bond of best friends, from the New York Times best-selling author of The Emperor’s Children.More

  11. Book ImageMidwinter Break: A Novel

    Bernard MacLaverty

    For readers of Colm Toíbín, a moving portrait of a marriage in crisis and a couple’s search for salvation.More

  12. Book ImageCal

    Bernard MacLaverty

    “Bernard MacLaverty’s powerful novel is a love story as affecting and tragic as you could want.”—USA TodayMore

  13. Book ImageThe New Annotated Frankenstein

    Mary Shelley, Leslie S. Klinger, Guillermo del Toro, Et Al.

    Two centuries after its original publication, Mary Shelley’s classic tale of gothic horror comes to vivid life in "what may very well be the best presentation of the novel" to date (Guillermo del Toro).More

  14. Book ImageThe Book That Matters Most: A Novel

    Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets, friendship, and the healing power of literature, by the bestselling author of The Knitting Circle.More

  15. Book ImageWe Come to Our Senses: Stories

    Odie Lindsey

    For readers of Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk and Redeployment, a searing debut exploring the lives of veterans returning to their homes in the South.More

Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 68 Next