Related Subjects



Biography

Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 29 NextSORT BY: Date | Title | Author
  1. Book ImageSchlesinger: The Imperial Historian

    Richard Aldous

    The first major biography of preeminent historian and intellectual Arthur Schlesinger Jr., a defining figure in Kennedy’s White House.More

  2. Book ImageA Revolution in Color: The World of John Singleton Copley

    Jane Kamensky

    “A sensory tour de force.” —Caitlin Fitz, The AtlanticMore

  3. Book ImageThe Collector of Lives: Giorgio Vasari and the Invention of Art

    Ingrid Rowland, Noah Charney

    In the tradition of The Swerve and How to Live, this vivid biography reveals how a Renaissance scholar reshaped the visual world.More

  4. Book ImageGorbachev: His Life and Times

    William Taubman

    The definitive biography of the transformational world leader by the Pulitzer Prize–winning author of Khrushchev.More

  5. Book ImageDarwin's Backyard: How Small Experiments Led to a Big Theory

    James T. Costa

    Darwin’s Backyard goes beyond the portrait of Charles Darwin as a brilliant thinker to concentrate on him as a nimble experimenter delving into some of evolution’s great mysteries.More

  6. Book ImageSargent's Women: Four Lives Behind the Canvas

    Donna M. Lucey

    "Sargent’s Women has a distinct elegance and potency—Lucey’s writing propels you forward, straight to the heart of the story, along the vibrant ties that linked this fascinating artist to the women he made infamous." —Christene Barberich, global editor-in-chief and cofounder, Refinery29More

  7. Book ImageDefiance: The Extraordinary Life of Lady Anne Barnard

    Stephen Taylor

    The first major biography of eighteenth-century writer and socialite Lady Anne Barnard.More

  8. Book ImageChester B. Himes: A Biography

    Lawrence P. Jackson

    The definitive biography of the groundbreaking African American author who had an extraordinary legacy on black writers globally.More

  9. Book ImageWilliam Tecumseh Sherman: In the Service of My Country: A Life

    James Lee McDonough

    The New York Times best-selling biography of one of America’s most storied military figures.More

  10. Book ImageGoethe: Life as a Work of Art

    Rüdiger Safranski, David Dollenmayer

    This sterling biography of Germany’s greatest writer presents Johann Wolfgang von Goethe as if we are seeing him for the first time.More

  11. Book ImageBe Like the Fox: Machiavelli In His World

    Erica Benner

    The dramatic, myth-shattering story of how Machiavelli—arguably the most misunderstood thinker of all time—fought to change his corrupt world.More

  12. Book ImageThe Courage to Act: A Memoir of a Crisis and Its Aftermath

    Ben S. Bernanke

    A New York Times Bestseller

    “A fascinating account of the effort to save the world from another [Great Depression]. . . . Humanity should be grateful.”—Financial TimesMore

  13. Book Image"Most Blessed of the Patriarchs": Thomas Jefferson and the Empire of the Imagination

    Annette Gordon-Reed, Peter S. Onuf

    "An important book…[R]ichly rewarding. It is full of fascinating insights about Jefferson." —Gordon S. Wood, New York Review of BooksMore

  14. Book ImageSearching for Sappho: The Lost Songs and World of the First Woman Poet

    Philip Freeman

    An exploration of the fascinating poetry, life, and world of Sappho, including a complete translation of all her poems.More

  15. Book ImageBeing Elvis: A Lonely Life

    Ray Connolly

    On the fortieth anniversary of Elvis Presley’s death comes this rocking biography of an iconic artist who fundamentally transformed American culture.More

Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 29 Next