Impounded

Dorothea Lange and the Censored Images of Japanese American Internment

Linda Gordon (Editor, New York University), Gary Y. Okihiro (Editor, Columbia University)

 

"Unflinchingly illustrates the reality of life during this extraordinary moment in American history."—Dinitia Smith, The New York Times

Censored by the U.S. Army, Dorothea Lange's unseen photographs are the extraordinary photographic record of the Japanese American internment saga. This indelible work of visual and social history confirms Dorothea Lange's stature as one of the twentieth century's greatest American photographers. Presenting 119 images originally censored by the U.S. Army—the majority of which have never been published—Impounded evokes the horror of a community uprooted in the early 1940s and the stark reality of the internment camps. With poignancy and sage insight, nationally known historians Linda Gordon and Gary Okihiro illuminate the saga of Japanese American internment: from life before Executive Order 9066 to the abrupt roundups and the marginal existence in the bleak, sandswept camps. In the tradition of Roman Vishniac's A Vanished World, Impounded, with the immediacy of its photographs, tells the story of the thousands of lives unalterably shattered by racial hatred brought on by the passions of war. A San Francisco Chronicle Best Book of 2006.

Book Details

  • Paperback
  • February 2008
  • ISBN 978-0-393-33090-8
  • 7 × 9.3 in / 224 pages
  • Sales Territory: Worldwide

Endorsements & Reviews

Also by Linda Gordon All

  1. Book CoverAmerica's Working Women: A Documentary History, 1600 to the Present

    Paperback

  2. Book CoverDorothea Lange: A Life Beyond Limits

    Paperback

  3. Book CoverFeminism Unfinished: A Short, Surprising History of American Women's Movements

    Paperback

All Subjects