Related to This Book



Midwinter Break

A Novel

Bernard MacLaverty (Author)

 

For readers of Colm Toíbín, a moving portrait of a marriage in crisis and a couple’s search for salvation.

A retired couple, Gerry and Stella, travel to Amsterdam for a holiday to refresh the senses, do some sightseeing, and generally take stock of their lives. Their relationship seems easy, familiar—but over its course we discover the deep uncertainties between them.

Gerry, once an architect, is forgetful and set in his ways. Stella is tired of his lifestyle and angry at his constant undermining of her religious faith. Things are not helped by memories that resurface of a troubled time in their native Ireland. As their vacation comes to an end, we understand how far apart they are—and can only watch as they struggle to save themselves.

Bernard MacLaverty is a master storyteller, and this is the essential MacLaverty novel: compassionate observation, elegant writing, and a heartrending story. It is also a profound examination of human love and how we live together—a chamber piece of resonance and power.

Book Details

  • Hardcover
  • Forthcoming August 2017
  • ISBN 978-0-393-60962-2
  • 5.5 × 8.3 in / 208 pages
  • Sales Territory: Worldwide, excluding Canada, the British Commonwealth and the European Union.

Endorsements & Reviews

Midwinter Break is a work of extraordinary emotional precision and sympathy, about coming to terms - to an honest reckoning - with love and the loss of love, with memory and pain. Full of scenes that are rendered with exquisite accuracy and care, allowing the most detailed physical descriptions to be placed against the possibility of a rich spiritual life, this is a novel of high ambition by an artist at the height of his powers” — Colm Toibin

“MacLaverty's prose is deceptively simple and rewardingly straight-forward and efficient. But what he writes about in this much anticipated novel — the resilience and stress-lines of human love experienced over much time — is anything but simple and straight-forward. It's the stuff of life.” — Richard Ford

Also by Bernard MacLaverty All

  1. Book CoverThe Anatomy School

    Paperback

  2. Book CoverCal

    Paperback

  3. Book CoverCal: A Novel

    Paperback