Coming Home to Eat

The Pleasures and Politics of Local Food

Gary Paul Nabhan (Author, University of Arizona)

Overview | Inside the Book
 

“The first manifesto of the local food movement, and it remains one of the best—eloquent, bracing, and full of vital information.” —Michael Pollan

In the tradition of M. F. K. Fisher and Henry David Thoreau, Gary Paul Nabhan relates how his experience with food permeates his life as an avid gardener and forager, as an ethnobotanist and farmland conservation advocate, and as an activist devoted to recovering place-based heritage foods. Nabhan spent a year trying to eat only foods grown, fished, or gathered within 220 miles of his home—with surprising results.Already considered a landmark in the locavore movement, Coming Home to Eat “makes us understand how finding and eating local foods connects us deeply and sensually with where we are [and] why the everyday choices we make about food are the most important choices we make” (Alice Waters, chef/owner of Chez Panisse).

Book Details

  • Paperback
  • July 2009
  • ISBN 978-0-393-33505-7
  • 5.5 × 8.3 in / 336 pages
  • Sales Territory: Worldwide

Endorsements & Reviews

“Eloquent, richly evocative . . . a fascinating, enlightening, and moving account.” — Los Angeles Times

“A tale certain to inspire gardeners, cooks, and others eager to replace convenience with flavor.” — Country Living Gardener

All Subjects