author photo

Photo by Joel Cohen

Rosanna Warren

Rosanna Warren, the author of four collections of poetry, has received awards from the Academy of Arts and Letters and has won the Lamont Poetry Prize. She teaches at the University of Chicago and lives in Chicago.

Books by Rosanna Warren

  1. Book CoverThe Collected Poems of Eugenio Montale: 1925-1977

    A majestic translation of one of the Nobel Prize-winning masters of twentieth-century poetry.More

  2. Book CoverDeparture: Poems

    "An important poet...beyond the achievement of all but a double handful of living American poets."—Harold BloomMore

  3. Book CoverEach Leaf Shines Separate

    In elegies of love and death, we learn the legacy of poet Max Jacob, and “the clarity of being alone,” but also that we still have to touch to believe, and that love, to believe in itself, must dress up in death. Yet sources of the future are also brought tenderly to us...More

  4. Book CoverFables of the Self: Studies in Lyric Poetry

    A landmark work—part personal narrative, part critical exploration—by a distinguished American poet.More

  5. Book CoverGhost in a Red Hat: Poems

    “Achieves a delicate balance between structural solidity and movement. . . . Warren’s latest poems tend to veil their complexity in understatement.”—Harvard ReviewMore

  6. Book CoverPoetic Diaries 1971 and 1972

    Poetic Diaries 1971 and 1972 is one of the Nobel Prize–winning poet Eugenio Montale’s final works, and it reveals the last act of the twentieth-century master to be one of splendid negation.More

  7. Book CoverPoetic Notebook 1974–1977

    Poetic Notebook 1974–1977, one of the final volumes assembled by Eugenio Montale before his death, shows the last act of the twentieth-century master to be one of splendid negation.More

  8. Book CoverStained Glass

    Rosanna Warren's first collection of poetry, Each Leaf Shines Separate, announced the emergence of a fresh voice in contemporary American poetry and earned praise from John Hollander, Richard Eberhart, and Mark Strand. Now, in her second book, Rosanna Warren has fulfilled...More